Worldcon 75

The 75th World Science Fiction Convention, 9-13 August 2017, Messukeskus, Helsinki, Finland

The Hugo Awards

Check here to see what is new about the Hugos this year.

The Hugo Calendar

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Hugo Awards. Members of Worldcon 75, and also of MidAmeriCon 2 (the 2016 Worldcon) and Worldcon 76 (the 2018 Worldcon), will have the right to nominate up to five candidates in each of the Hugo categories. Nominations will close on 2017-03-18 06:59 UTC (at 11:59 pm Pacific Daylight Time on 17 March).

Those who joined one of the qualifying conventions before the start of January will have already received their unique personalised link to make nominations. (31 January was the cutoff date to join the qualifying conventions in order to nominate; Worldcon 75 members who join after that date will be able to vote on the Final Ballot when it is announced, but will not have nomination rights.) You can also vote by post using a paper ballot: please download and print the A4-size paper ballot (PDF, 160 kB) or the letter-size paper ballot (PDF, 160 kB). Postal ballots must also be received by the same deadline.

The final ballot will be announced in April, and voting for the Hugo Awards will continue until July. Only Worldcon 75 members can vote on the final ballot. Because Worldcon 75 is in the first half of August, it is likely that the deadline for Hugo votes will be in mid-July.

What is the Hugo Award?

The Hugo Awards are the annual awards presented by the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS), honouring the best of science fiction and fantasy, across 15 different categories, from the calendar year prior to that year’s World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon). The Hugo Awards have been presented annually since 1955 and are the most prestigious awards in the genre. The Hugos are voted on by the members of each year’s Worldcon and administered by that Worldcon’s organising committee. For more information about the history of the Hugo Awards, see For more information about the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, see

Categories of Hugo Award

The Hugo Awards are presented in the following categories:

  • Best Novel
  • Best Novella
  • Best Novelette
  • Best Short Story
  • Best Related Work
  • Best Graphic Story
  • Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)
  • Best Editor – Short Form
  • Best Editor – Long Form
  • Best Professional Artist
  • Best Semiprozine
  • Best Fanzine
  • Best Fancast
  • Best Fan Writer
  • Best Fan Artist

Additionally, Worldcon 75 will include a special Hugo category for “Best Series” in the 2017 Hugo Awards, with nomination and voting the same as for the permanent categories.

Each Worldcon also administers the John W. Campbell Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of the two previous years. For Worldcon 75, this means 2015 and 2016. This award is sponsored by Dell Magazines.

Full definitions of each category are included with the nominating information and actual ballots.

Design of the Hugo Award

The Hugo Award’s distinctive trophy rocket design has been in place for many years.

Each Worldcon committee gets the pleasure of sponsoring the design of the base of that year’s Hugo Award, sometimes adding a distinctive local flair to the award.

Image credits: Hugo Award from ConFrancisco, the 51st Worldcon in San Francisco, CA in 1993, photo by Shelia Perry.